Rest

lines-371433_1920
I will both lie down and sleep in peace;
for you alone, O Lord, make me lie
down in safety.
       (Psalm 4:8)

Often, O Lord,
on this journey of life,
I feel like I’m walking
   a tightrope
with miles of emptiness below
and no one to catch me
and nothing to hold on to.

I reach for and grasp at
promises of security
that pop up all around me,
though they fade like the wind
when I truly need them
to give me direction
and steady my step.
But it is you alone
who are my true security;
it is you alone
who will take my hand
to travel every step with me
in answer to the cry
that comes out of my fear
of walking this way alone.

And with this truth
to console and comfort,
I surrender my anxiety,
and I take my rest.

by Dennis Ference
© 2000 Liguori Publications
(First posted without pic 10/30/14.)

Taken from Psalm Prayers for Seniors by Dennis Ference. Available from Liguori Publications, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Itunes, and other ebook sources.

8 thoughts on “Rest

Leave a comment

